“Charged” With Trespassing

A girl walked into the lobby just as my shift was winding down.  It was the first time all day that there was no one in the lobby, and I finally had some peace and quiet to gather my thoughts. She was wearing a teal sleeveless dress. I recognized that it was from Forever 21, because I bought the same dress in black about five years ago. Her face was bright red and she was glancing all around and mumbling under her breath.

Confused I asked, “Excuse me, can I help you?”

*incoherent mumbling*

“I’m sorry. I didn’t catch that.”

“I need to use your phone.”

My workplace has a strict policy against letting people use the phone– especially people who are not guests of the hotel.

“I’m sorry. I can’t let you do that ma’am.”

As soon as the words left my mouth, she became aggressive.

“They’re coming after me! They have been following me all day! I need to call my ride so they can come get me before those guys find me! I work next door and they harassed me all day, so I couldn’t finish my shift! YOU HAVE TO LET ME USE YOUR PHONE!”

This is when I realized she might be a little “confused.” I know every employee and the owner next door, because as desk clerks, that convenient store is one of our main sources of food/beverages. I calmly told her that it would not be possible and that she would have to make her own arrangements.

“At least let me charge my phone! Please!”

On a normal day, I would have had no problem saying “no.” Working in this neighborhood, I had learned that sympathy would only get me into trouble. However, there was no one else in the lobby, and she began crying, so I decided to let her charge her phone. About ten minutes later, she called someone, could not seem to get through, and started yelling profanities to herself. At this point, I informed her that she had to leave because she had charged her phone. Now she became extremely aggressive. I told her again that she needed to leave because she was not a guest here and she was now disturbing the guests that had started arriving for check-in.

She said, “I’m not leaving, Go ahead and call the police if you need to.:

“if I call the police, the hotel will be pressing charges against you for trespassing,” I informed her.

“TRESPASSING?! ARE YOU SERIOUS?!”

That was all the assurance I needed, I dialed the non-emergency number to the sheriff’s office, and explained to them what was going on. She heard me telling them the whole story, which upset her more.

“I am gonna knock you out!”

Now I know better than to engage anger, but of course, I only added fuel to the fire.

“In that case, I hope that your friends really do find you.” I felt embarrassed as soon as I had said it.

Shortly thereafter, the police arrived. By now I had figured out that she was either schizophrenic or under the influence of something. In the time that she had been occupying the lobby, I saw her point to at least 4 different people and accuse them to be the one following her. The police took her statement and then came inside to speak to me. I offered my story, but they declined saying they knew exactly what was going on. I saw them guiding her away from the hotel.

“We know what’s wrong with her. Don’t worry, it’s only a matter of time before this is all resolved.”

On that note, they left the hotel, and I followed suit.

Leave a comment